26 de Marzo de 2019
Portal Educativo de las Américas
 Imprima esta Página  Envie esta Página por Correo  Califique esta Página  Agregar a mis Contenidos  Página Principal 
¿Nuevo Usuario? - ¿Olvidó su Clave? - Usuario Registrado:     


Colección: INTERAMER
Número: 66
Año: 1999
Autor: Christopher R. Thomas
Título: The Organization of American States in its 50th Year: Overview of a Regional Commitment

I. An Overview of the Organizational Structure of the General Secretariat

In broad terms the present structure of the General Secretariat is divided into five principal areas: The Office of the Secretary General; The Office of the Assistant Secretary General; The Executive Secretariat for Integral Development; The Secretariat for Legal Affairs; and the Secretariat for Management.
i. The Office of the Secretary General includes a group of advisors, an executive office, and specialized program units. Within the Executive Office, which is coordinated by the Chief of Staff, are the department of Public Information, the Department of Legal Services, the Office of the Inspector General, the Office of Protocol, and the Office of External Relations. The Specialized Program Units, which are also coordinated by the Chief of Staff, include: The Department of Fellowships, the Office of Cultural Affairs, the Office of Science and Technology, the Secretariat to CICAD, the Secretariat to CIDH, the Secretariat to CITEL, the Trade Unit, the Social Development and Education Unit, the Inter-sectoral Unit for Tourism, the Unit for the Promotion of Democracy, and the Unit for Sustainable Development and Environment. An executive committee comprising the Heads of the departments and areas of the General Secretariat has also been established under the authority of the Secretary General to assist in the coordination of the work of the General Secretariat.

ii. The Office of the Assistant Secretary General comprises an executive office managed by the Assistant Secretary General’s Chief of Staff, and two principal Secretariats; the Secretariat for Meetings and Conferences and the Secretariat to the General Assembly, the Meetings of Consultation, and the Permanent Council. The other areas directly responsible to the Assistant Secretary General include the Permanent Secretariat to the CIM, the Office of the Inter-American Children’s Institute, the Art Museum of the Americas, the Offices of the General Secretariat in Member States, and the Columbus Memorial Library. The Office of the Assistant Secretary General also has responsibilities for coordinating the Ethics Committee, the Selection and Promotion Committee, coordination  with United Nations and Specialized Agencies of the U.N. System, coordination with CARICOM, the Inter-American Committee for Emergency Situations, and the White Helmets Initiative.
iii. The Executive Secretariat for Integral Development (SEDI) has responsibility for providing to CIDI administrative and technical support. The Secretariat comprises an executive office and three service divisions: Operations and Technical Support Services; Planning and Evaluation; and Program and Project Coordination. SEDI manages the Special Multilateral Fund of the Inter-American Council for Integral Development(FEMCI) and provides secretariat services to the meetings of CIDI and its subsidiary organs.

iv. The Secretariat for Legal Affairs manages all technical  cooperation activities in the area of legal cooperation and provides advice on international law to the organs of the Organization including, but not limited to, the Committee on Political Affairs of the Permanent Council, the Inter-American Juridical Committee, and the Inter-American Specialized Conference on the Development of Private International Law. The Secretariat includes two principal dependencies: The Department of International Law and the Department of Cooperation and Legal Dissemination. It also includes the Secretariat of the Administrative Tribunal.
v. The Secretariat for Management comprises an executive office and five departments: The Department of Human Resources, the Department of Material Resources, the Department of Financial Resources, the Department of Program Budget, and the Department of Management Systems. The Secretariat’s departments provide services within their individual areas of competence to all the administrative dependencies of the General Secretariat.